Each Thing is Held In Place

A Meditation on some lines by Rilke….

What does it mean to be free?

I have often thought there is a FREEDOM FROM and then a FREEDOM TO….. which are often confused.

There is the freedom from the imposition of another’s will upon our own…. and, say, the freedom TO walk across the room because our feet aren’t tied.

What is this “arrogance” which seeks an “empty freedom” rilke mentions?

These lines dug deep into my heart the moment I read them, out on a park bench a few years ago in a deep depression. Somehow or another, they provided an answer for me to the anguish of Sartre’s existentialism.

I hope they do something for you:

Each thing
each stone blossom child
is held in place
only we in our arrogance
push out beyond what we each belong to
for some empty freedom.

