Thank You, Dallas Willard

If I can stop one heart from breaking,
I shall not live in vain;
If I can ease one life the aching,
Or cool one pain,
Or help one fainting robin
Unto his nest again,
I shall not live in vain.

-Emily Dickinson

 

A friend of mine texted me thursday May 9th

 

“Dude… Dallas Willard… so sad.”

 

At first I wanted to respond: what?! What happened?! But I already knew.

 

I had been trying for months to speak to him… unsuccessfully.

 

The text came as I was preparing to enter the gym. I timed some pre-work out stretches. I set the phone down on the elliptical. I started running.

 

About 10 minutes in I started crying — right there in the gym. Not weeping, outrageously so anyone would notice. But crying. Wiping tears from my face silently as I continued running.

 

I don’t think he ever finished the book that furnished our bond, “The Disappearance of Moral Knowledge.” Maybe he didn’t need to.

 

I have never known such a kind, owl-like man in my life. I am eternally grateful that I can call him one of my advisors… then and now.

 

Thank You Dallas.

 

You can read more about Willard here:

http://dornsife.usc.edu/phil/willard/#willard-letter

http://www.dwillard.org/

 

